24th Unbirthday Party

So I turned 24 on September 1st! and clearly,  I am always looking for an excuse to throw a party, so I had myself a little shindig on the 14th. The theme was a hipster twist on Alice in wonderland. I also was looking for an excuse to make a tiered “practice” cake. I mean, the thought of tiered cakes stressed me out to no end, and if I have an order for one I now know what is involved! All pictures will be at the bottom of this post.

 

BOTTOM

The bottom layer of this cake was “bobby flays Devils food cake” with an almond marscapone filling and then a nutella frosting. I died the filling hot pink, and the frosting black. It was decorated with “eat me” written in my favorite colors.  I think I made 3 batches for the 2 12” layers.

Recipe for cake :

Ingredients

1 1/4 cups cake flour

1/2 cup Dutch processed unsweetened cocoa powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons (1 1/4 sticks) unsalted butter, at room temperature

1 1/2 cups granulated sugar

3 large eggs

1/2 cup buttermilk

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/2 cup strong, hot coffee

 

Directions

Set rack in the middle of oven and preheat to 325 degrees F. Line a 12 slot muffin pan with large paper or foil cupcake liners.

 

Sift the flour, cocoa, baking soda, baking powder and salt together 3 times. In thebowl of an electric mixer, beat the butter and sugar together at high speed for 15 seconds until combined. Add the eggs 1 at a time beating until each is incorporated. Continue beating until light and fluffy, about 6 minutes longer. With the mixer at its lowest speed, beat in 1/3 the flour mixture. Beat in the buttermilk and vanilla, then another third of the flour. Beat in the coffee and then the remaining flour. Fill the sections of the muffin tin 1/2 full and bake for 15 minutes or until the centers spring back when lightly pressed. Set pan on a rack to cool.

 

Read more at: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/bobby-flay/cream-filled-devils-food-cupcakes-recipe/index.html?oc=linkback

 

The filling was adapted from this recipe: http://www.yourcupofcake.com/2013/02/so-what-im-single-cupcakes.html I have made this in its entirety before and it was so good. But I did not have any hazelnut creamer, and thought almond would be tasty. It was!

 

Mascarpone Filling:

8 oz. mascarpone cheese

1/3 C. powdered sugar

1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

1 Tbsp. hazelnut creamer, powder (optional)

Buttercream: Beat butter and cream cheese until smooth. Add malted milk powder and cocoa and beat again. Add vanilla, milk and slowly add powderedsugar until you reach your desired consistency. If it becomes too thick, add more milk. I doubled the recipe, and then added some “rose” gel food dye.

I don’t have a recipe for the buttercream, I just made a basic buttercream, then added nutella and black dye until it looked and tasted like I wanted it to haha. It didn’t take that much nutella to flavor the whole double batch.

 

 

 

MIDDLE

Ive never made a red velvet cake, and they seem to be a crowd favorite so I decided it was time. But red? Overrated. Teal on the other hand…

I used paula deans recipe, but I did not have any/enough cake flour, so I made my own using corn starch and all purpose flour. Also, 2 batches for 2 10” layers.  Paula also has a lot of crazy things in her frosting that wasn’t going to work for my plan, so it ended up being a plain vanilla cream cheese frosting.

When I frosted this layer I split the frosting in half, dyed one half pink, the other purple, then I used a wilton No. 789 Cake Icer Basketweave tip, flat side up. I alternated stripes of the colors, and then I smoothed them together using a angled spatula. It came out perfect.

Cake:

2 cups sugar

1/2 pound (2 sticks) butter, at room temperature

2 eggs

2 tablespoons cocoa powder

2 ounces red food coloring (Or teal)

2 1/2 cups cake flour

1 teaspoon salt

1 cup buttermilk

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 tablespoon vinegar

 

Icing:

1 (8-ounce) package cream cheese

1 stick butter, softened

1 (1-pound) box confectioners’ sugar

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

 

In a mixing bowl, cream the sugar and butter, beat until light and fluffy. Add the eggs one at a time and mix well after each addition. Mix cocoa and food coloring together and then add to sugar mixture; mix well. Sift together flour and salt. Add flour mixture to the creamed mixture alternately with buttermilk. Blend in vanilla. In a small bowl, combine baking soda and vinegar and add to mixture. Pour batter into 3 (8-inch) round greased and floured pans. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Remove from heat and cool completely before frosting

 

Icing:

Blend cream cheese and butter together in a mixing bowl. Add marshmallows and sugar and blend.

 

Read more at: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/paula-deen/grandmother-pauls-red-velvet-cake-recipe/index.html?oc=linkback

 

TOP

For the top layer I did 3 8” vanilla rainbow layers! The top was made topsy-turvey by propping up the pan on some aluminum foil. This made the cake kind of puff up on the part, but it evened out while cooling.  I put my batter in a gallon zip lock (I only had 1 8” magic line pan, so it was very slow baking) and added a few drops of color in different spots, then smooshed it around to get it to mix. I wasn’t sure if it would come out as pretty as if I split it all, but I was so tired it didn’t matter anymore. But it came out so nice looking! This layer was decorated as the mad hatters hat, in teal, of course.  It had peacock feathers, a 9/1 “sign” some steampunk cogs (kind of) and other hat like goodness.

 

Ingredients

Cooking spray

3 cups cake flour, plus more for dusting

1 tablespoon baking powder

3/4 teaspoon fine salt

2 1/2 cups sugar

3 sticks unsalted butter, at room temperature

3/4 cup milk, at room temperature

1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract

4 large eggs, at room temperature

Directions

Position a rack in the center of the oven and preheat to 350 degrees F. Spray two 9-inch round cake pans with cooking spray and dust with flour.

 

Put the flour, baking powder and salt into the bowl of a food processor. Add the sugar and pulse a few times to combine evenly. Cut the butter into small pieces and add to the dry ingredients. Pulse until the mixture looks like coarse sand, with some pea-size bits of butter, about 5 times.

 

Whisk the milk, vanilla and eggs together in a liquid measuring cup. With the processor running, pour in the wet ingredients and process to make a smooth batter (this takes less than a minute). Divide the batter between the prepared pans and bake until a toothpick or small skewer inserted in the center comes out clean, about 35 minutes.

 

Cool the cakes on a rack for 15 minutes. Then run a knife around the edges of the pans and turn the cakes out onto a plate. Flip the cakes upright and cool completely on the rack, about 45 minutes

 

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/food-network-kitchens/basic-vanilla-cake-2-recipe/index.html.

 

ALL TOGETHER NOW

To put them together I used the appropriate sixed cake boards (same size as the cake) and wooden dowels. I used 5 dowels in the bottom layer, and 4 in the middle layer. I did not put this cake together until the last minute, since it was already SO HEAVY. It was also on a wooden block that is pretty heavy on its own.

Since I apparently am made of time and I do love to craft, I did make some fondant. I was originally going to use this on all the layers but I got nervous and frosted instead. The only thing I ended up using the fondant for was the hipster caterpiller and XXX bottle that sat by the front of the cake. He was originally going to go on the top, but in my frosting frenzy I put a “24th unbirthday” up there instead. He looked pretty great where he was though!

 

Other things I did for the party- VEGAN jello shots, DIY photobooth and props, I repainted some chairs crazy colors, dyed a shirt that said “I went mad before it was cool” with bleach, collected loooooots of Christmas lights and mason jars. We put together a makeshift bar using sawhorses and planks of wood for the food, drinks, and music. I also made my own grenadine, thanks to  this link! http://www.cupcakeproject.com/2008/01/how-to-make-grenadine-and-why-you.html

 

DSC_0406 DSC_0407 DSC_0409 DSC_0410

DSC_0411

Wicked cool EL wire sign i made!

DSC_0412

Chairs and lights

DSC_0416

the “bar”

It was a lot of work, but it was so worth it. Now I need to find my next thing to plan… friendsgiving anyone?

Leave a Reply

